Skip to product information
1 of 5


Various - Disco Not Disco (Leftfield Disco Classics From The New York Underground) (3xLP)

Various - Disco Not Disco (Leftfield Disco Classics From The New York Underground) (3xLP)

Regular price $39.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $39.95 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Various - Disco Not Disco (Leftfield Disco Classics From The New York Underground) 

Label: Strut - STRUT204LP

Released: 2019

Genre: Electronic, Rock, Funk / Soul

Style: Leftfield, Disco

Format: 3 x Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Reissue


A1. Yoko Ono - Walking On Thin Ice (1981 Re-edit) 7:20
A2. Liquid Liquid - Cavern 5:21
B1. Loose Joints - Tell You (Today) (Vocal) 7:02
B2. Ian Dury, The Seven Seas Players - Spasticus Autisticus (Version) 6:59
C1. Material - Over And Over (Long Version) 5:39
C2. Was (Not Was) - Wheel Me Out 7:09
D1. Dinosaur - Kiss Me Again (Original Edit) 6:52
D2. Don Cherry - I Walk 3:13
E1. Common Sense - Voices Inside My Head 6:33
E2. Nicky Siano - Move 5:30
F. Indian Ocean - School Bell / Tree House (Walter Gibbons Mix) 10:01

Product Review:

Strut Records serves up a tasty helping of leftfield disco classics with the reissue of Various's Disco Not Disco. This compilation brings together a selection of tracks from the New York underground scene between 1979 and 1985, offering an insight into the city's vibrant music culture at that time.

The album spans a range of genres, from electronic to funk and soul, rock to disco. Each track is carefully chosen, providing an eclectic mix that showcases the diversity and talent of each artist. Standout cuts include Yoko Ono's iconic 'Walking On Thin Ice' (1981 Re-edit), Liquid Liquid's 'Cavern', Don Cherry's 'I Walk' and Material’s ‘Over And Over’ (Long Version). It also includes some lesser-known gems such as Common Sense’s ‘Voices Inside My Head’ and Nicky Siano’s ‘Move’.

Disco Not Disco is sure to appeal to fans of leftfield music looking for something new as well as those who want to explore classic sounds from this era. With its combination of rare tracks and familiar favourites, it is an essential addition to any collection - a perfect reminder that good music never goes out style.

Data provided by Discogs
View full details