Skip to product information
1 of 1

Numero Group

Various - Basement Beehive: The Girl Group Underground (2xLP)

Various - Basement Beehive: The Girl Group Underground (2xLP)

Regular price $34.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $34.95 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Various - Basement Beehive: The Girl Group Underground 

Label: Numero Group - 075

Released: 2022

Genre: Rock, Funk / Soul, Pop

Style: Doo Wop, Rhythm & Blues, Rock & Roll, Soul, Bubblegum

Format: 2 x Vinyl, LP, Compilation, Special Edition, Pink Leopard Swirl Vinyl


A1. The Four J's (2) - Will You Be My Love
A2. The Chantells (6), The Aqua Lads - I'll Never Know
A3. The Passionetts - My Fault
A4. The Tonettes (4) - I Gotta Know
A5. Vickie & The Van Dykes - I Wanna Be A Winner
A6. The Vandelettes - A Love Of Mine
A7. The Devilettes - I'll Say Yes
B1. Dot and The Velveletts - Searching For My Man
B2. The Chapells - Help Me Somebody
B3. Devotions - Same Old Sweet Lovin'
B4. The Hill Sisters (2) - My Lover
B5. The Soulettes (3) - Find Somebody New
B6. The Mellow Dawns - I Don't Believe
B7. The Cineemas - Never Gonna Cry
B8. Unknown Artist - Goodbye Baby
C1. Judi & The Affections - Dum, Dum, De Dip
C2. The Para-Monts - Come Go With Me
C3. The Belles (3) - Melvin
C4. The Petites (5) - I Believe (The Man Loves Me)
C5. The Voices (18) - Fall In Love Again
C6. Charles Pikes & The Scholars - Unlucky In Love
C7. The Contessas (3) - Broken Heart
D1. The Shades (25) - I Won't Cry
D2. The Monzas - Where Is Love
D3. Toni & The Harts - Thank You Baby
D4. The Dreamliners - From One Fool To Another
D5. The Rayons - Baby Be Good (While I'm Gone)
D6. Paulette & The Cupids - Teenage Dropout
D7. Bernadette Carroll - Laughing On The Outside
D8. Unknown Artist - I Love You For All Seasons

Product Review:

Numero Group’s Basement Beehive: The Girl Group Underground compilation is a stunning tribute to the lost era of girl group music. Spanning the 1950s and 1960s, this double LP culls together some of the most vibrant and heartfelt songs from this era, featuring a plethora of lesser-known acts such as The Four J's, The Chantells and Vickie & The Van Dykes.

The collection offers up a broad range of styles from Doo Wop to Rock & Roll to Soul, all unified by their ebullient energy and soaring harmonies. Lead single 'I'll Never Know' by The Chantells is an infectious blast of upbeat R&B that perfectly encapsulates the compilation’s timeless appeal. Elsewhere there are blissful pop gems like 'My Fault' by The Passionetts, gritty R&B numbers like Charles Pikes & The Scholars’ 'Unlucky In Love', and heartbreaking ballads such as Bernadette Carroll's 'Laughing On The Outside'.

Basement Beehive: The Girl Group Underground is an essential document for anyone with even a passing interest in this captivating genre. It serves as both an introduction for those new to the music and an exciting rediscovery for those already familiar with it - packaged with Numero Group's usual impeccable attention to detail on pink leopard swirl vinyl no less!

Data provided by Discogs
View full details