Dudu Phukwana And The “Spears”* – Dudu Phukwana And The “Spears” (2xLP, Dlx, RE, RM, S/Edition, Gat)


In stock

Additional information



Dudu Phukwana And The "Spears"


Format name


, , , , ,






Release ID



A1. Pezulu (Way Up) 5:54
A2. Thulula (Fill It Up) 3:20
A3. Kuthwasi Hlobo (Spring) 3:37
A4. Half Moon 3:40
A5. Yini Njalo (Stick Around) 2:16
B1. Kwa Thula (Thula’s Place) 3:41
B2. Joe’s Jika (Joe’s Groove) 3:46
B3. Nobomvu (Red Head) 5:02
B4. Qonqoza (Knock) 4:42
B5. Phola (Cool It!) 3:31
C1. Pezulu (Extended Take) 6:23
C2. Pezulu (Alternate Take) 5:47
C3. Studio Interlude 0:17
D1. Zulu Liyaduduma 3:32
D2. Sibuyile (Take One) 2:29
D3. Sibuyile (Take Two) 2:24
D4. Church Mouse 2:46
D5. Untitled (Andromeda) 2:49

Copyright (c) Matsuli Music
Phonographic Copyright (p) Matsuli Music
Lacquer Cut At The Carvery

Alto Saxophone – Dudu Pukwana
Bass – Harry Miller
Design – Siemon Allen
Design [Sleeve] – Josh Spencer
Drums – Louis Moholo
Engineer – John Wood
Guitar – Simon Nicol, Simon Nicol
Liner Notes – Peter Sinclair (7)
Liner Notes [Gatefold Inside] – Richard Haslop
Organ – Bob Stuckey
Photography By – Peter Sinclair (7)
Photography By [Gatefold Inside] – Valerie Wilmer
Producer – Joe Boyd
Reissue Producer – Matt Temple, Matt Temple
Remastered By, Restoration [Audio], Lacquer Cut By – Frank Merritt
Trumpet – Mongezi Feza
Vocals – Joe Mogotsi

Pressure Cooker South African Township Jazz and Mbaqanga. Dudu Pukwana’s 1968 debut album, recorded in London, released only in South Africa. A second album of mostly unreleased 1969 recordings featuring Richard Thompson, Simon Nicol, Joe Mogotsi, Chris McGregor, Mongezi Feza, Louis Moholo, members of Osibisa, and others. Originally produced by Joe Boyd. Re-mastered audio, double gatefold album, heavyweight 180g vinyl. Unseen photographs by Val Wilmer. New liner notes by Richard Haslop join the historical dots.

Dudu Pukwana and the Spears recorded in London, but were only ever released in South Africa. The story behind this extraordinary music and the famous names involved are documented in this extended edition of Dudu Pukwana’s debut album.

In 1964 the Blue Notes left South Africa to play at the Antibes Jazz Festival in France, and more or less stayed away forever after. In January 1969 alto saxophonist Dudu Pukwana went home briefly along with producer Joe Boyd who persuaded Johannesburg record company Trutone to license the recordings for release in South Africa.

Liner notes — peter sinclair
Photography by Peter Sinclair
Sleeve Design by Josh Spencer
A Witchseasons Production

All tracks composed by Dudu Pukwana, except:
iZulu Liyaduduma by R. Bopape, S. Piliso, P. Manana;
Sibuyile by S. Nkabinde, J. Makwela;
Church Mouse by Chris McGregor;
Untitled (Andromeda) by Chris McGregor.
Original recordings: Joe Boyd (producer); John Wood (engineer).
Photographs of Mongezi Feza and Dudu Pukwana by Val Wilmer.
Produced by Matt Temple and Chris Albertyn at Matsuli Music.
Audio restoration, remastering and vinyl cut by Frank at The Carvery, London.
Design by Siemon Allen at Flatinternational.
Special thanks to Sean Conlon for the loan of the Atlantic acetate, Siemon Allen for transcribing it and Rob Allingham, Adam Glasser and Nick Lotay for lending us your ears.

PERSONNEL on tracks 1-10
Confirmed: Dudu Pukwana (alto sax), Bob Stuckey (organ and bass pedals), Louis Moholo (drums). Likely: Phil Lee (guitar), Chris McGregor (piano), Teddy Osei (tenor sax), Mongezi Feza (trumpet), Harry Miller (bass). Possible: Jonas Gwangwa (trombone), Dudu Pukwana (tenor sax and piano), Remi Kabaka (drums or percussion), Jimmy Scott (percussion), Tunji Oyelana (drums or percussion).
PERSONNEL on tracks 11-19
Confirmed: Dudu Pukwana (alto sax), Richard Thompson (guitar), Simon Nicol (guitar), Harry Miller (bass), Louis Moholo (drums), Mongezi Feza (trumpet), Joe Mogotsi (vocals), Bob Stuckey (organ and bass pedals). Likely: Mamsie (Mthombeni) Gwangwa (vocals), Chris McGregor (piano), Phil Lee (guitar), Teddy Osei (tenor sax). Possible: Dudu Pukwana (tenor sax), Jonas Gwangwa (trombone), Remi Kabaka (drums or percussion), Jimmy Scott (percussion), Tunji Oyelana (drums or percussion)

Matrix / Runout MM115-A The Carvery 203006E1/A1
Matrix / Runout MM115-B The Carvery 203006E2/A
Matrix / Runout MM115-C2 The Carvery 203006E3/A
Matrix / Runout MM115-D₂ The Carvery 203006E4/A